|Looking back to the start|
The peninisula became private land when it was bought back around 1900 by the owner of the home which eventually became the Keltic Lodge. The owner pastured his cattle out along the penninsula, and put a gate across it to keep the cattle from wandering down to the house in the summer. However he also opened the gate the rest of the time so the people of Ingonish, the nearby village, could go out to the end of the promontory to picnic, to fish, to enjoy what had been theirs since their immigration here.
Where Keltic Lodge is located, about midway along the two mile extension into the ocean, is like a waist - pinching the centre, then it broadens a bit, narrows here and there, and is an amazing bit of granite topped with vegetation, left over from when the ice age scoured the landscape down to bare rock.
|Looking ahead - you can see the roots of the trees and tumbled boulders along the pathway, not easy walking.|
|Looking back at the pillars for the gates, the way we came|
|The water trough or well|
For tourists and visitors like myself, there are guided tours, and self guided tours, but everywhere the people are marvelous, willing to share their island. What an experience this has been.